Posted in Christianity

Why Voting for Donald Trump Is a Morally Good Choice by Wayne Grudem

Some of my Christian friends tell me they can’t in good conscience vote for Donald Trump because, when faced with a choice between “the lesser of two evils,” the morally right thing is to choose neither one. They recommend voting for a third-party or write-in candidate.

As a professor who has taught Christian ethics for 39 years, I think their analysis is incorrect. Now that Trump has won the GOP nomination, I think voting for Trump is a morally good choice.

American citizens need patience with each other in this difficult political season. Close friends are inevitably going to make different decisions about the election. We still need to respect each other and thank God that we live in a democracy with freedom to differ about politics. And we need to keep talking with each other – because democracies function best when thoughtful citizens can calmly and patiently dialog about the reasons for their differences. This is my contribution to that discussion.

A good candidate with flaws

I do not think that voting for Donald Trump is a morally evil choice because there is nothing morally wrong with voting for a flawed candidate if you think he will do more good for the nation than his opponent. In fact, it is the morally right thing to do.

To read in full, please go to http://townhall.com/columnists/waynegrudem/2016/07/28/why-voting-for-donald-trump-is-a-morally-good-choice-n2199564

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

6 thoughts on “Why Voting for Donald Trump Is a Morally Good Choice by Wayne Grudem

  1. Wow…is it just me or do we see mass compromise in the church? What if Hitler and all of his good was one of those who were running in this election? Well, he’s not as bad as Clinton, and he’s more of a gentleman than Trump…he’s done a lot of good for the economy…sure he’s got some “flaws”…

    I know Trump has polarized evangelical Christianity with his so called honesty and shooting from the cuff, but remember, if you vote him in and he gets in, you will be held accountable for his decisions while in office.

    This man is a rotten, wicked and lustful pervert who would “even date his own daughter” because she looks that good. Can we really compare Clinton and Trump and say Trump is the better choice because he’s the lesser of two evils?

    The real Christian will not vote, because he cannot in good conscience while bringing glory to God. Remember, we are to do all for His glory?

    We, as the body of Christ ought to remember this.

    1. I absolutely disagree with you. Did you not read the article? I have the utmost in respect for Mr. Grudem, and not just for this. This man is a Christian who has done far more for the cause of Christ than most of us will ever do. He’s not compromising. He’s acting, speaking, in wisdom. Something most people are too blind to see. We will be held accountable for our choices. We are not responsible for the choices of others. We are responsible for our own. So what should we say to the aborted babies when you get to heaven who might not have ever been aborted if our Supreme Court was ruled by conservative judges? Sorry, I had to vote my conscience. Do those who insist on not voting take their choices to the logical degree? Do we refuse to eat, drink, watch, go, use, etc., things made or created by those with whom we absolutely cannot agree? Yeah…probably not. Every time we do anything, go anywhere, purchase or eat or drink anything we are, in some way, supporting God haters. So, if you’re going to go off on Trump, go off on all the others and just stop doing, eating, going, drinking, or buying any and everything. As this site is not for arguments, any more argumentative or divisive comments by you will be deleted without being read. If you want to comment, prove it to me by Scripture–while answering all of what he said and what I just said. Thank you.

      1. Can you prove through Scripture that Christians are obligated/allowed to vote for someone like Trump? Do you know who Trump is? I mean really?

        How can you justify this decision? How can you stand before God and say you are completely okay with voting for someone like him? I’m shocked how the Christian church has fallen for this guy. It’s sickening to say the least. Is voting for Trump a morally evil decision? According to our witness, or salvation and the honor and glory of Christ Jesus I would emphatically say YES!

        If you need me to prove this through Scripture, then you don’t know the Bible very well. Sorry for being so candid, but it seems someone needs to.

        1. You know I used to call you my friend. When you were in trouble, I spread the word and prayed many prayers for you. I also had many others praying for you. When I turned to you in trouble (due to my husband’s abuse), I got legalistic ramblings that in no way were helpful or biblical. You are Canadian, Paul, and as such don’t really have a right to stick your nose in American politics. I’m sorry you don’t agree with me but, honestly, I couldn’t care less. I lost respect for you when you turned your back on me when I was in need. That was several years ago. So pardon me if I don’t really feel bad about deleting your comments in the future, should you reply again. then you don’t know the Bible very well. Sorry for being so candid, but it seems someone needs to. Really? That’s your comeback? After talking to me so many times about how you respected my love for the Lord? After asking my advice on your blog posts? After telling me you deeply appreciated my devotion to the Word? So, now because you don’t agree with me on a candidate, you feel free to attack me? You know it’s people like you who give the church a bad name. What happened to speaking the truth in love? Where was the Christian love in your response? Nowhere. We’re to be gentle, kind, forebearing one another, forgiving one another, even when we have disagreements. I don’t really think supporting Trump, with whom I hardly agree on everything, over Hillary, with whom I disagree on everything, is a salvation issue. If folks don’t vote, she will get into office. And she’ll wreck havoc on free speech, take away the right to legal gun ownership, make sure that abortion–up to the day the baby is due to be born–is absolutely legal, ensure religious (read that: Christian) persecution not only continues but rapidly increases (remember what she said about Christians should have to change their views if they conflicted with a woman’s “right” to abortion? No? I didn’t think so). Hillary is evil. Trump? Hardly a Christian but I do believe that while he himself is a heathen, he will do what he can for this country and to ensure religious (read that: Christian) freedom. Please don’t comment again. I’m sorry if this comes across cruel. It’s not my desire to hurt you. My family, my precious children, and I, are struggling so much right now due to my husband’s disastrous decisions and what he’s done/doing, plus I’ve been very sick for a long time and I’m just now starting to get some better, and I simply don’t have the time, energy, desire, or patience to deal with you coming on here attacking me for my beliefs or who I support. If this was a Gospel/salvation issue, then you would be welcome to correct me–lovingly, which I don’t think you know how to do. You want to yell at someone, or attack someone, go find someone and do it face to face.

  2. I pray that all the Christians out there will read what God is telling His prophets. Only God knows what lies in each heart and we need to seek His Will in this election for He has anointed one candidate as His choice… His “Trump-Card”.

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

