Posted in Anna Wood, Christianity

He is I AM

Exodus 3: 14, And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt you say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you. 

John 8: 58,  “Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am

 

I AM

What glorious majesties are contained in that simple phrase.

I AM

Completeness beyond measure.

I AM

Nothing good escapes its bounds, nothing evil can enter.

I AM

No beginning, no ending, just a perfect holy IS.

We get so caught up in all that Jesus is to us that we forget all that He IS. Jesus is God and He is I AM. Perfection. Completeness. Holiness. Goodness. Unchanging Truth. Jesus isn’t one thing to us and something else to someone else. He just IS. We fail when we try to chisel Him down, define Him in terms we can relate to, put Him into a box small enough for us to understand. Who can understand I AM?

We’re not supposed to fully understand God. We can’t fully comprehend Him, He’s simply too big. By God’s grace, we can understand the truth revealed to us in His Word. But God is endless glorious purity, truth and light. He is self-existent holiness and needs no one yet He loves us. He is majestic holy wrath, one who punishes those who reject or defy Him and a friend to those who follow Him. It will take eternity to even scratch the surface of His beauty. He is everything. He is I AM.

Christianity isn’t about us though so many have tried so hard to make it so. We lose its beauty, its glory, its truth, when we bend it, break it and convolute it so that it, God’s Truth, is defined in terms of us. When we define God or His truth in in terms of us, in light of us, it’s no longer His holy truth with the power to save but a deadly poison with the power to kill and destroy. We’ve sought our own way and failed to glorify God far too long. It’s time to repent. Time to get down on our knees, repent of our short-sightedness, repent of our selfish focus, and just worship Him as He is.

He is I AM. And He bids us come.

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

One thought on “He is I AM

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

