Posted in Anna Wood, Authentic Christianity

The Grace of God Sustains

I want to quit. I want to give up. I’m tired, really, really, tired of things. Things that don’t change. Things that go on forever. Things that never get started. But the grace of God sustains me.

Journal Entry

 

Sometimes life is overwhelming. It is for me and I know it is for many whom I know and love. It’s hard. We live in a fallen world, a world that loves self and glory far more than it loves Christ. We’re surrounded by people who claim to love the Lord but who serve selfish purposes, whose words and deeds do not match their public proclamation of faith. We’re faced with our own faithlessness, both to people and to the Lord. Getting up in the morning often feels hopeless, like we’re slogging through thigh-deep mud trying to trek a thousand miles and making inches of progress. Or like we’re endlessly digging and refilling, digging and refilling, the same hole, all while wondering why the hole won’t stay dug. It just seems hopeless.

I know all about how to set goals, make plans and get things done. But being a planner or a doer doesn’t cut it when things happen that are out of your control, things that just keep on keeping you from making the progress you long to make.

Soul-deep longings left unfulfilled can make you sick of heart. Scripture teaches us that: Proverbs 13: 12, Hope deferred maketh the heart sick: but when the desire cometh, it is a tree of life. But there is hope….

Everybody hits bottom sometimes. Sometimes it can take years, even a decade or two, to pull oneself out of such a pit. That’s especially true if you cannot control certain of your circumstances. When outcomes are left in the hands of unfaithful or untrustworthy people, digging out can take even longer. Much, much longer.

And you know, folks don’t understand that. They look at you and all they see is where you are, they don’t see the battle you are fighting. They don’t see your efforts or how they are so often crushed by others with less than stellar purposes. They don’t see, they don’t understand, but that doesn’t keep them from passing judgement on you or heaping more pain, more accusations, more trouble on your already overwhelmed being.

What do we do in such times? When life fails. When others bring trouble and woe. When you cannot, no matter how hard you try, make it right. When some fail to see how hard you are trying and blame you for trouble you didn’t cause.  When we fail. And fail. What can we do? Where can we run? To whom can we turn?

When travail comes, and if it hasn’t already, it will, run to the Lord. Repent of your double-mindedness, of your sinful desires and trust in Him. Lean on the One Who will never fail. Make Him your All-in-All, your Everything. You can’t use Him but if you serve Him, if you love Him, He will always be there for you. James 4: 8a, Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. He will always care. He always sees truth. He knows your efforts. He will never, ever, ever, let you down. The Lord will never leave you nor forsake you (Hebrews 13: 5).

Things might not get better but you will have the Lord on your side and He will see you through. If He is your all-in-all, no matter what you are facing, He will be enough for you. He will sustain you, just as He sustains me.

As for me, life is and has been, continuously overwhelming for far longer than I would have hoped. There are troubles brought on by others that I just can’t ever seem to solve. There are those who just seem to come around simply to add to the pain, those who simply don’t, can’t, won’t, understand. And sometimes I fail. Far too often, I fail.

But God….

God.

The Lord.

He is GOOD.

His mercy endures forever.

And His grace will sustain me.

And it will sustain you.

No matter what.

 

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

13 thoughts on “The Grace of God Sustains

  1. Anna, you call your followers amazing … you are amazing, these words are amazing … may our amazing God bless you dearly and lift you from these debilitating circumstances. Thank you for sharing the cry of your heart.

  2. Great message, Anna. I know you have been struggling for so very long and it is tough not to grow weary. You and I have talked about how lonely and overwhelming it can be when nothing seems to change in our pain. I believe that somehow as we get to that wilderness area in our lives, God is drawing us closer to him. He is taking away all the temporary help that others may do and leaving us only to rely on him. It is hard to go through this trial so I focus on the truth, as do you, that God is true to his word and he is going to cause even this time of struggle to be used for our good according to his perfect plan. I remind myself that my pain does not define me or my future. It simply strengthens my faith and draws me nearer to Christ.

    The plan for your life is being perfected, dear Anna. Hold on and let the power of God be your strong tower. I am praying for you.

    1. Dearest Marianne, Thank you. It is in the fire that silver is purified. One day, dear friend, God will pull us out of the fire and we’ll be vessels ready for His service. Until then, we must, by His grace, endure. I’m praying for you also. Stand strong. Love you~

  3. Hello Anna,
    I’m a pastor of a little flock of God’s own. I’m in ministry for the past 25 years. I’ve enjoyed much of the Lord’s work, in fact I cannot be without being in His work. But here I am just totally, totally exhausted and ready to throw in the towel. Your words of encouragement like dew upon parched ground. I needed its counsel and strength. Thanks for understanding and writing on issues that are pertinent to the genuine Christian heart that longs for faithfulness around us. Keep on this counsel, God only knows how many of His children really need. The Lord bless you. Thank you. In Christ I still remain by His grace.
    Carlton Benny

    1. Hello Carlton,
      Thank you for your encouragement. Your words mean a lot to me. Any good is from God and all glory is His. I am blessed to know that He is using my pitiful efforts. May God continue to bless you as you serve Him.
      In Christ Who is ALL,
      Anna

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

