Posted in Authentic Christianity, Creation and the Flood

A Defense of Six-Day Creation

I’m well aware of the fact that our tolerance of “day-age,” “analogical,” and “framework” views is seen by some as a very good thing. It shows that we are not stick-in-the-mud fundamentalists. And for this reason we can still be people who are respected by intellectuals and scientific people. We can even join with them in ridiculing people like Ken Ham for their attempts to uphold and defend a literal reading of the Genesis account of creation. I am willing to admit that at one time I felt attracted to this viewpoint. I also wanted to be respected.

I am now in my sixty-first year as a Reformed Pastor, and I am very much aware of the fact that I am not likely to have many more years of service. So, before the Lord calls me to come to his dwelling place I want to bear faithful witness concerning one of the foundational doctrines of the Bible. It is so foundational that it is the very first thing affirmed in the oldest creeds of the church: “I believe in God the Father, Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth,” and “of all things visible and invisible.” The Greek word translated in English as ‘maker’ is ποιητην. In Latin it is creatorem. And the Bible itself, before it says anything else, says “in the beginning” God “created” (Hebrew bara) “the heavens and the earth.” It also clearly says that he did so “in the space of six days, and all very good.”

This doctrine of six day creation was also the consensus of the theologians, ministers and elders at the Westminster Assembly. And it’s my conviction that we in the Presbyterian and Reformed community of today have lost credibility with respect to this affirmation. We still say we believe every word of the Bible including what it says about creation. We also say that we subscribe to the Westminster Standards. But the truth is that we are no longer united in what we mean when we say this.  And it is my conviction that this has seriously weakened our testimony to unbelievers.

I’m well aware of the fact that our tolerance of “day-age,” “analogical,” and “framework” views is seen by some as a very good thing. It shows that we are not stick-in-the-mud fundamentalists. And for this reason we can still be people who are respected by intellectuals and scientific people. We can even join with them in ridiculing people like Ken Ham for their attempts to uphold and defend a literal reading of the Genesis account of creation. I am willing to admit that at one time I felt attracted to this viewpoint. I also wanted to be respected. And there certainly have been aspects of fundamentalism that I disagree with.

But when it comes to such a fundamental of the faith as the doctrine of creation, I am not ashamed to say that I have reached the point where, on this doctrine, I am more in harmony with them than with much of the material written by those who reject six-day creation.

To read in full, please go to A Defense of Six-Day Creation.

One thought on “A Defense of Six-Day Creation

  1. What does the author mean when he states: “But when it comes to such a fundamental of the faith as the doctrine of creation, I am not ashamed to say that I have reached the point where, on this doctrine, I am more in harmony with them than with much of the material written by those who reject six-day creation.”
    He does not clearly state whether or not he literally believes the Holy Word of GOD! Why do so few of those that call themselves Christians speak plainly? Why do we wonder that (c)hristanity here in “Amerika” has so little influence upon society – and that there is evermore rapidly increasing Apostasy?

    It is the choice that each and every one of us has to make:

    I) Believe in a literal six-day creation – as “THE LORD GOD” inspired Moses to write in His Holy Word.
    [Gen 1:1-31 – KJV]
    – OR –
    II) Believe that men in their ‘critical thinking’ know more than “THE ONLY WISE GOD”.
    “O Timothy, keep that which is committed to thy trust, avoiding profane and vain babblings, and oppositions of science falsely so called: Which some professing have erred concerning the faith. Grace be with thee. Amen.” (1 Tim 6:20-21 – KJV)

    My personal choice – by the wondrous Grace of GOD is to believe ALL of what
    “THE LORD JEHOVAH” inspired to be written in the Holy Bible (KJV) –
    from Gen 1:1 – Mal 4:6 (OT) and Matt 1:1 – Rev 22:21 (NT) – even when I understand not the full meaning of the Holy Scripture – which is ALL of the time.

    Part of what is written in Psalm 119:
    “89 ל (LAMED). For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven.
    90 Thy faithfulness is unto all generations: thou hast established the earth, and it abideth.
    91 They continue this day according to thine ordinances: for all are thy servants.
    92 Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction.
    93 I will never forget thy precepts: for with them thou hast quickened me.
    94 I am thine, save me; for I have sought thy precepts.
    95 The wicked have waited for me to destroy me: but I will consider thy testimonies.
    96 I have seen an end of all perfection: but thy commandment is exceeding broad.”
    (Ps 119:89-96 – KJV)

    As the Apostle Peter wrote:
    “For we have not followed cunningly devised fables, when we made known unto you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but were eyewitnesses of his majesty.” (2 Pet 1:16 – KJV)

    As the Apostle Paul wrote:
    “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” (2 Tim 3:16-17 – KJV)

    “17 Bow down thine ear, and hear the words of the wise, and apply thine heart unto my knowledge.
    18 For it is a pleasant thing if thou keep them within thee; they shall withal be fitted in thy lips.
    19 That thy trust may be in the LORD, I have made known to thee this day, even to thee.
    20 Have not I written to thee excellent things in counsels and knowledge,
    21 That I might make thee know the certainty of the words of truth; that thou mightest answer the words of truth to them that send unto thee?”
    (Prov 22:17-21 – KJV)

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

