Posted in Christianity

The Loneliness of the Christian by A. W. Tozer (From Man – The Dwelling Place of God, ch. 39)

 

The loneliness of the Christian results from his walk with God in an ungodly world, a walk that must often take him away from the fellowship of good Christians as well as from that of the unregenerate world. His God-given instincts cry out for companionship with others of his kind, others who can understand his longings, his aspirations, his absorption in the love of Christ; and because within his circle of friends there are so few who share his inner experiences he is forced to walk alone.

The unsatisfied longings of the prophets for human understanding caused them to cry out in their complaint, and even our Lord Himself suffered in the same way.

The man [or woman] who has passed on into the divine Presence in actual inner experience will not find many who understand him. He finds few who care to talk about that which is the supreme object of his interest, so he is often silent and preoccupied in the midst of noisy religious shoptalk. For this he earns the reputation of being dull and over-serious, so he is avoided and the gulf between him and society widens.

He searches for friends upon whose garments he can detect the smell of myrrh and aloes and cassia out of the ivory palaces, and finding few or none he, like Mary of old, keeps these things in his heart.

It is this very loneliness that throws him back upon God. His inability to find human companionship drives him to seek in God what he can find nowhere else.

 

12 thoughts on “The Loneliness of the Christian by A. W. Tozer (From Man – The Dwelling Place of God, ch. 39)

  1. You spoke right to my heart today. I have been feeling the deep and endless loneliness of a woman who has committed her life to God because or the sake of and because the love of Christ. How lonely it is in a world where everything matters except Him and where Jesus has become a token word to refer to the self worship of those who attend a church service only to enjoy some rock music and reflect on how awesome Godi for making them. No one praises God anymore for who He IS. The great I AM. And how great He is indeed. I am a mom of two girls whom I am desperately trying to raise in God\’s love and in all purity and modesty. And yesterday I came to a conclusion that if one more person suggests that I need to expose my children to ungodly things for the experience of it, I am going to thusly are that person when the last time they went out to seek out a crack dealer, or a whorehouse just for the sake of the experience of it all. Why are so many people blinded to God and His goodness. How many blessings He has when we CHOOSE to follow Him, and sacrifice our own wants to His will! Yet, I am constantly looked upon as strange because I desire purity from the filth of this world for myself and my children. It does indeed get so very lonely because as you say — there are none left that understand. The dreaded notion that I need to \”expose\” my kids came yesterday from a lady easily in her 70\’s and afterward and since I have deeply mourned the death of the family structure God intended. Because the death of our desire to be a wholesome family comes from the death of the desire or even understanding that God wishes us to ask him to search our hearts and make us holy as Christ was holy. Jesus did not suffer and die so that we may continue in our sins. I have yet to find another single person outside my husband who understands this. Unless you count the people who think their being good is what saves them. It takes faith through grace first, and then out of obedience and gratitude and love we try our hardest and ask God to help transform our lives into a living pleasing sacrifice to Him. Thank you for your love of the truth. I am so glad I found your blog.

    1. Dear Carla,

      Forgive my delay in answering. I am touched by your circumstances and understand fully. You seem to be a God-fearing woman whom I’d be proud to know. It is difficult to find others who desire to walk the straight and narrow day-by-day. God calls you to this and He will enable you to continue. Keep your focus on Him alone, not on the storms, not the naysayers, not on your circumstances and He will hold you in the palm of His hand and keep you safe and focused. If you ever desire to talk more e-mail me at thecrossisall@gmail.com God bless you, Anna

    2. I feel comforted to read your words Carla, my sentiments too. I feel so unaccepted by the world, including some of my family who don’t know Christ. Hang in there and continue to do what is right, as our God knows us and has called us to be light to the world.

    1. Dear Carla, I don’t see a follow button on your blog (which is quite nice, by the way). Can you add one? If you do, please let me know because I don’t see a way to follow it (though I’d love to). 🙂 God bless you in your efforts to glorify Him.

      1. Thank you for the encouragement on being a godly woman. I agree it is a constant re-focusing ourselves to His will. I wish I was better at it! I just started my blog because I kept thinking how I wished to connect to others. I don’t know how much I’ll do on it, but really, I would like to have another Christian woman who might read what I have to say and edify or correct me along the way. I think I added a “follow” button. Haha – maybe it worked? Thanks again. And I hope the storm has left you untouched.

  2. Ms. Wood (I assume this is your name.) I am an old preacher that have preached those things hard to be understood at a great cost of many friendships. I often say, I have walked a loney road but it has been such a joyous one that I could not have desired any other. The words concerning Tozer and all that he wrote bring back such memories of the times past when I first learned those things so wonderful and blessed. I would laugh and cry, blessed and yet so hungry for more of Him who saves ruined sinners. Even now they are my joy.

    1. Thank you so much for coming by and taking the time to comment. Thank you also for your service to our Lord. My son is preparing to preach. Do you by any chance have a blog? God bless you. Anna

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

