A Prayer by William Wilberforce

O Lord,

reassure me with Your quickening Spirit; without You I can do nothing.

Mortify in me all ambition, vanity, vainglory, worldliness, pride,

selfishness, and resistance from God,

and fill me with love, peace, and all the fruits of the Spirit.

O Lord, I know not what I am, but to You I flee for refuge.

I would surrender myself to You, trusting Your precious promises

and against hope believing in hope.

You are the same yesterday, today, and forever; and therefore,

waiting on the Lord,  I trust that I shall at length renew my strength.

2 thoughts on “A Prayer by William Wilberforce

  1. Pingback: EChurch@Wartburg – 8.9.15 | The Wartburg Watch 2015

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

