Posted in To trust in God

A New Day, A New Direction by Anna Wood

Two years ago come June, my husband lost his job. Since then we’ve lived hand-to-mouth on unemployment and odd jobs. We’re a homeschooling family of nine children with seven of them still living at home; to say it’s been hard would be an understatement.

Two-and-a-half weeks ago, my husband received a request for an interview from the State (for a job we didn’t even know existed–He had applied with the State for a job much closer to home). A week ago today, he traveled one hundred and fifty miles from home to be interviewed. Last Thursday, four days ago, he was hired.

It’s a new day and by the grace of God we’re heading in a new direction. The question is “How?”

God has seen fit to answer our endless prayers for a job for my husband. He answered, not in the way we expected, with a job close to home, but He answered nonetheless and I cannot stop praising Him. Now, however, comes a new hard part: how do we get hubby to the appointed place (three hours from home), at the appointed time (June 1st), with no money to our name (unemployment doesn’t cover much) and a very old and unreliable car (that we also need here)? The job isn’t tremendously high paying (but it’s a lot more than unemployment and it offers room for him to advance) plus he won’t get paid for a month after he starts (so we will still be living on unemployment until he gets his first paycheck)…meaning we are adding tremendously to an already overly burdened financial picture. Once he has a place, how do we support himthere while still supporting us here? Then, how do we get all of us from here to there?

I don’t know. I really, really don’t. But I do know this: my God is good and my God is great and He has given my husband a job! He has turned us in a new direction and impressed upon us that this new road is the right road and, however difficult it is, we are to walk it. I believe with all of my heart that God will walk it with us. I don’t prescribe to the “Health, wealth and prosperity Gospel” for a minute; it’s false and I know it with all of my being. Still I believe that when God calls us to do a difficult, or even impossible thing, He does so to His glory and, as long as we are obedient to Him, He takes it upon Himself to work out the details; I believe that also means that, at times, God takes it upon Himself to provide for us.

Just as He has been providing for us for the past two years. If God could, and did, see us through the dark days of unemployment then He can, and will, see us through these uncertain days that lie just ahead of us…and He will do it to His glory!

It’s a long road and, for now, it’s one with many more questions than answers but it’s a road God Himself has set us on and He knows the pathway intimately…since He Himself set us on it…so I will trust Him.

May He ever be praised!!

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

One thought on “A New Day, A New Direction by Anna Wood

  1. Needless to say, you and your loved family will be in our prayers. Seems like God is moving and whenever His favorite word arises (impossible), watch out, watch out…I am so happy for you guys. Keep pressing on in faith and submission, God will NEVER let you down. Trust me…I know what I’m talking about.

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

