Posted in Christianity

Review of Feed My Sheep: A Passionate Plea for Preaching

With a foreword by Ligon Duncan and chapters by Dr. R. Albert Mohler Jr., Dr. James Montgomery Boice, Dr. Derek W. H. Thomas, Dr. Joel R. Beeke, Dr. R. C. Sproul, Dr. R. C. Sproul Jr., Dr. Sinclair B. Ferguson, Dr. Don Kistler, Eric J. Alexander, Dr. John Piper and John Macarthur, this book is a labor of love for Christ and for His church.

Why another book on preaching? Al Mohler answers that question in the foreword: “I suggest the following: preaching in the contemporary English-speaking world—and even in the evangelical and Reformed community—has not been impervious to the negative forces brought to bear on proclamation as a method of evangelism and discipleship. A video-drowned and educationally-challenged culture, and a church bent on accommodating herself to the dominant communication theories of the day, challenge the minister committed to the “foolishness of preaching.”

Further, the purpose of this book itself, for both preachers and Christians, is set forth in the preface as: “It is our dual hope that this new edition of Feed My Sheep will help enflame a new generation of preachers to preach the Word and will educate a new generation of believers in the pew to understand what they ought to expect from the pulpit each Lord’s Day.”

Topics include: The Primacy of Preaching, The Foolishness of Preaching, Expository Preaching, Preaching to the Mind, Preaching to the Heart, Preaching With Authority and Evangelistic Preaching (among others).

I’m not a preacher. I’m not even a man. What I am is a woman who is passionate to see God exalted and His Truth preached; this book prepares preachers to preach the Truth and enables Christians to know it when they hear it. Reading it, I felt like a little kid in a great big candy shop in happy shock after being told that I can have whatever I want. Chapter after chapter, I proceeded to partake of the wondrous bounty.

This is a book to drink in, to taste, to savor. It is a work worthy of prayerful consideration, one that shows us how far from the Biblical mark most American churches have fallen; it is also one that gently takes us by the hand and leads us back to where Truth is both found and cherished. Preachers will be taught to teach, the hungry Christian will be prepared to learn.

My oldest son is preparing to preach, this book will one day be his. I pray when he takes it in hand, he will learn from the godly wisdom contained within its pages. For now, it’s mine and I am blessed to sit at the feet of the men who know what preaching ought to be and who labored so that I may know, too. As one having grown up in the Arminian tradition and now rejoicing in the doctrines of Grace, I find this book is like a cold drink of water on a hot, hot Summer’s Day.

This isn’t a book just for preachers, it is a book for all who love God. Read it and be blessed.

I received a PDF copy of this book from Reformation Trust for purposes of review. After my review is posted, I will receive a copy of the book itself. I was not required to give a positive review only an honest and fair one. My opinions are my own.

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

One thought on “Review of Feed My Sheep: A Passionate Plea for Preaching

  1. Anna, when you receive your hard copy of this book, I hope you will print this excellent review and paste it inside the front cover for you firstborn to read when it becomes his!

    Thank you, dear Sister.

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

