Posted in To trust in God

To Trust In God

Often I have heard people say, “How good God is! We prayed that it would not rain for our church picnic, and look at the lovely weather!” Yes, God is good when He sends good weather. But God was also good when He allowed my sister, Betsie, to starve to death before my eyes in a German concentration camp. I remember one occasion when I was very discouraged there. Everything around us was dark, and there was darkness in my heart. I remember telling Betsie that I thought God had forgotten us. “No, Corrie,” said Betsie, “He has not forgotten us. Remember His Word: “For as the heavens are high above the earth, so great is His steadfast love toward those who fear Him.” Corrie concludes, “There is an ocean of God’s love available – there is plenty for everyone. May God grant you never to doubt that victorious love – whatever the circumstances.” ~Corrie Ten Boom

 

God has wisely kept us in the dark concerning future events and reserved for himself the knowledge of them, that he may train us up in a dependence upon himself and a continued readiness for every event. ~Matthew Henry

 

There is no circumstance, no trouble, no testing, that can ever touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and past Christ, right through to me. If it has come that far, it has come with a great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment. But I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart. ~Alan Redpath

 

It is a glorious thing to know that your Father God makes no mistakes in directing or permitting that which crosses the path of your life. It is the glory of God to conceal a matter. It is our glory to trust Him, no matter what. ~Joni Eareckson Tada

 

I will trust Him. Whatever, wherever I am, I can never be thrown away. If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him; in perplexity, my perplexity may serve Him; if I am in sorrow, my sorrow may serve Him. My sickness, or perplexity, or sorrow may be necessary causes of some great end, which is quite beyond us. He does nothing in vain.~John Henry Newman

 

Satan is ever seeking to inject that poison into our hearts to distrust God’s goodness – especially in connection with his commandments. That is what really lies behind all evil, lusting and disobedience. A discontent with our position and portion, a craving from something which God has wisely held from us. Reject any suggestion that God is unduly severe with you. Resist with the utmost abhorrence anything that causes you to doubt God’s love and his lovingkindness toward you. Allow nothing to make you question the Father’s love for his child. ~Arthur W. Pink

Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

11 thoughts on “To Trust In God

  1. my dear sister

    Thankyou for posting that. I always tell Yehovah from the bottom of my heart that He is always good. I am a second generation holocaust survivor.
    Yehovah spared my earthly Father, and because of that I am the first believer in our jewish family. My pappa never got over his hatred for the natzis. Dr Mengele sent his pappa to the gas chambers, and the rest of his family. Only He and his mother were spared. He used to beg me and he made me promise as a small child that I would never stop telling people what happened at Ausschwitz, He poured all his pain into me when I was young, and I loved him so much, that I took it all in. It made my life very difficult. I was an angry scared little girl. who always tried to rescue the weak, and somwhere I lost myself and became a heroin addict for many many years. I ended up in skid Row in Los angeles ca. where while begging on the streets one day like the leper I was, a man came up to me and spoke to me the words of

    Isaiah 52
    1 Awake, awake, Zion,
    clothe yourself with strength!
    Put on your garments of splendor,
    Jerusalem, the holy city.
    The uncircumcised and defiled
    will not enter you again.
    2 Shake off your dust;
    rise up, sit enthroned, Jerusalem.
    Free yourself from the chains on your neck,
    Daughter Zion, now a captive.

    3 For this is what the LORD says:

    “You were sold for nothing,
    and without money you will be redeemed.”

    4 For this is what the Sovereign LORD says:

    and his love healed me. Now I am a child of the Kingdom of light. And no longer have any desire to do the evil and wickedness I used to.

    YES I MUST AGREE, HE IS ALWAYS GOOD, HE WAS GOOD EVEN WHEN MY FAMILY WAS MURDERED IN THOSE CAMPS, AND HE HAS GIVEN ME THE GRACE TO FORGIVE AND LOVE THOSE WHOM I ONCE HATED. OH GLORY TO HIS KADOSH NAME.

    1. Bless you, my sister. Your story is truly one of God’s grace and mercy. May God bless and keep you and continue to cause His face to shine upon you!

  2. Wow, Ruth, my heart goes out to you and your dear family, and yet, I am almost jealous, for God has hand picked you for something very special. One can hear it in your writing. You have a perspective that only God can give. I say this with our trials and tribulations: We can either look at them one of two ways, a crisis, or an opportunity. A crisis if we look at ourselves as victims, but an opportunity if we look at ourselves as handpicked for such a time as this. This most assuredly is a great post for every Christian to read. God is good, and when bad things happen to us, realize His perspective is much greater than ours. We have to ask Him to help us look at our situations through His eyes, then we will be able to understand what is going on past ourselves.

    1. Thank you for your kind and sensitive reply to Ruth. You gently spoke words of wisdom.

      “I say this with our trials and tribulations: We can either look at them one of two ways, a crisis, or an opportunity.” ~~VERY well said!

      1. Amen, Anna. Ruth, my dear, you are special and well chosen of God. Your humility, grace and wisdom shines through in your words. Be blessed by those of us who sincerely desire to pour into your life, love and comfort. Many of us have our struggles, and trials, and many of us can understand to certain degrees, so take this for what it’s worth: In the name of our Lord Jesus, we stand with you, and are here for you.

        1. Amen and amen!! Beautifully said…and very true. Sister, I, too, am one who is here for you should you need me.

  3. I speak out of hurt as well. Many so called Christians have turned their backs on us, and have treated us like enemies. Our story is different than yours Ruth, but nonetheless, we have cried more, mourned more, wailed more and ached more than most people could ever imagine. BUT, we have learned to abide in the shadow of the Most High. We have learned to stick close to our Master and not allow the waves to stir us. Surrenderedness, submission and humility are keys to our survival.

    1. Thank you for sharing this with Ruth. I know she will be blessed by it. I, too, know such pain. I have had many troubles with our immediate family as well as with members of the church over my desire to obey and serve God fully and as dictated by His Word not by culture.

      1. You see, this is beautiful. We gather together here, on my blog, on a dear friend’s blog Mom4Truth and we encourage each other, exhort each other and build each other up in godliness, humility and love. For the longest time, I have searched and prayed for others to feed off of and to feed. It’s been wonderful to share with you and others this way.

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

