Posted in Christianity

A Picture Of American Churchanity?

(I’m no fan of Sunday school but, besides that, this poem is sadly on-the-mark.–Anna)


I’ll go where you want me to go, Dear Lord.
Real service is what I desire.
I’ll say what you want me to say, Dear Lord.
But don’t ask me to sing in the choir!

I’ll say what you want me to say, Dear Lord.
I’d like to see things come to pass.
But don’t ask me to teach girls and boys, Dear Lord.
I’d rather just stay in my class.

I’ll do what you want me to do, Dear Lord.
I yearn for your kingdom to thrive.
I’ll give you my nickels and dimes, Dear Lord.
But please don’t ask me to tithe.

I’ll be what you want me to be, Dear Lord.
I long to see the church alive.
But don’t ask me to come out at night, Dear Lord.
I’m always too worn out and tired.

I’ll go where you want me to go, Dear Lord.
I’ll say what you want me to say.
I’m busy just now with myself, Dear Lord.
But I’ll help you some other day.


Author:

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

4 thoughts on “A Picture Of American Churchanity?

    1. I suppose that there are “good” Sunday Schools; by “good” I mean theologically sound. Unfortunately that isn’t true for most churches. Sunday schools tend to focus on fun, fellowship and weak doctrine. On top of that, Christian moms and dads don’t tend to focus as much now on teaching God’s Word in their homes as they used to do because “the Sunday school does that”. I believe that churches function best when they aren’t age-segregated (there are no Scriptural injunction or example for age-segregating). Sunday school was started to function as “School on Sunday” and was a reaction to children going to work at factories at such a young age. The idea was that if they taught them to read and comprehend on Sunday, then the children could read God’s Word for themselves. The idea was good; the overall result, bad.

Having read this, what do you have to say about it?

